About Us

This careers portal supports the work of the Judicial Diversity Committee and the Judicial Diversity and Inclusion Strategy and is managed by Judicial Office.

The Judicial Diversity and Inclusion Strategy, published on 5 November 2020, sets out the ambition, aims and objectives for the judiciary over the next five years. The objectives demonstrate a collective commitment within courts and tribunals to ensuring that the judiciary provides an environment in which talented individuals, whatever their personal or professional background, can thrive.  The strategy applies to all court and tribunal judges, non-legal members of tribunals and magistrates.

Further information about the judiciary can be found on the main Judiciary UK Site.

Our Work

We operate three core workstreams which support the overall Judicial Diversity and Inclusion Strategy. These activities have the ultimate goal of encouraging a more diverse community of legal professionals working within the Judiciary. The three work streams are described below. Click the relevant card to find out more.

Seminars and Events

We run a programme of activities which will include undertaking outreach, judicial work shadowing and mentoring, application seminars and targeted support programmes. These are to support you in any judicial applications you wish to make and will be advertised over the coming months to give you an opportunity to register to attend such events.

Work Shadowing

The Judicial Work Shadowing Scheme (JWSS) has been designed to give eligible legal practitioners the opportunity to get an insight into the work of a judge. The scheme is open to Barristers, Solicitors, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives, Registered Patent and Trade Mark Attorneys. It is also open to professionally-qualified legal academics.


The Judicial Mentoring Scheme (JMS) provides mentees the opportunity to further understand issues in support of an application for Judicial Office, receive confidential advice, support, guidance, and greater understanding of the judiciary. The scheme is open to Barristers, Solicitors, Fellows of the Chartered Legal Executives and professionally qualified legal academics who meet the eligibility criteria.